Pick Your All-Time W.I. Cricket Team

The cricket site crickinfo.com is famous for picking all time teams by country / region.  Recently they picked an all-time West Indies XI from an allotted 6.  With the state of our current regional cricket and board, this is exciting.  It gives us something to smile about, because some of us are students of the game and watch tapes/DVDs, listen to audio of past great West Indians… and there were many of them.

The Cricinfo Team

  • Openers: Gordon Greenidge, Conrad Hunte
  • Middle Order: George Headley, Vivian Richards, Brian Lara
  • All-Rounder: Garry Sobers
  • WicketKeeper: Jackie Hendriks
  • Fast Bowlers: Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, Curtly Ambrose
  • Spinner: Lance Gibbs

The Yowlink  Admin Team

  • Openers: Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes (best opening pair of all time in all of cricket)
  • Middle Order: George Headley, Vivian Richards, Brian Lara
  • All-Rounder: Garry Sobers
  • WicketKeeper: Jeffrey Dujon
  • Fast Bowlers: Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, Joel Garner
  • Spinner: Lance Gibbs
We picked 7 members from the West Indies teams of the mid-70s – late 80s that were virtually unbeatable.  No surprise how we voted.  Bias?  What bias?  We are almost as bad now as we were good back then… but I digress.
Were it a West Indies XIV (14), we would have voted the following people on (who are also products of those 70s – 80s teams:
(12)  Andy Roberts
(13)  Curtley Ambrose
(14)  Courtney Walsh
You notice that we picked 3 fast bowlers to make up 12, 13, and 14?  No surprise since the West Indies have boasted 6 of the best  12 fast bowlers of all time in our opinion but, once again, I digress.

Select Your Team

The deal is, you are allowed  allowed to pick as follows:

Select The Nominees
2 Openers Conrad Hunte Gordon Greenidge Desmond Haynes Chris Gayle      
3 Middle Order George Headley Clyde Walcott Frank Worrell Rohan Kanhai Seymour Nurse Clive Lloyd  
Lawrence Rowe Alvin Kallicharran Viv Richards Richie Richardson Brian Lara Shivnarine Chanderpaul  
1 All Rounder Learie Constantine Gerry Gomez Collie Smith        
1 WicketKeeper Clyde Walcott Deryck Murray Jeffrey Dujon        
3 Fast Bowlers Wes Hall Andy Roberts Michael Holding Colin Croft Joel Garner Malcolm Marshall  
Courtney Walsh Curtly Ambrose Ian Bishop        
1 Spinner Alf Valentine Lance Gibbs          

One Exception

We allow you to put in anyone not listed above to replace ONE person on the list above.  In other words, your final 11 can only contain 1 person not listed here.







3 responses to “Pick Your All-Time W.I. Cricket Team”

Leave a Reply