The beatitudes

The Beatitudes (Blessings): Ninth(?) one

Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward in heaven is great, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. (Matthew 5:11-12)

The eight Beatitudes (blessings by Yeshua / Jesus) are found in Matthew 5:3–12 during Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount.

Well, just a comment. Over time, I have shown the 8 blessings of Jesus but couldn’t exclude verses 11 & 12. The debate is whether there are 8 Beatitudes or 9. Some of the answers given are:

(1) It is eight – Matthew 11 & 12 is the 9th one.
(2) It is nine – Matthew 3-10 are the 8, and Matthew 11 & 12 is an extension or explanation of the 8th.
(3) The Catechism has nine, but “My Catholic Faith” book has eight beatitudes; maybe the persecution ones were connected together before and now no?
(4) Eight and name seem very similar.

Does it matter? You may use the chat to talk to us.



, ,



Leave a Reply